Division 4 Logo

Division 4 NMRA MCR


Achievement means Education

John Hemsath MMR Achievement Director - hemsathj@gmail.com

Bruce Brintnall has written an article about how to make it easier to fill out paperwork for judging. It's worth a look. Attached pdf

The NMRA’s achievement program is both a learning experience and route to becoming an NMRA Master Model Railroader (MMR).

Golden Spike

The Golden Spike is the easiest, and for many people, the first AP award that they earn. It is designed to demonstrate familiarity with different areas of the hobby, rather than expertise in a particular area. So take a look at the requirements - you may find that you have met most, or all of them already. For the requirements see: www.nmra.org/education/achievement/gold.html

Master Model Railroader

Briefly stated, there are 11 areas of modeling association activity recognized by the NMRA. To become an MMR you need to complete seven, and of these seven certificates, you must have at least one from each of the following four areas:

Model Railroad Equipment:
Master Builder - Locomotoves
Master Builder - Cars

Master Builder - Structures
Master Builder - Scenery
Master Builder - Prototype Models

Engineering and Operation:
Model Railroad Engineer - Civil
Model Railroad Engineer - Electrical
Chief Dispatcher

Service to the Hobby:
Association Official
Association Volunteer
Model Railroad Author

Several of our current division members already hold one or more Achievement Certificates.
All the requirements and forms for the Achievement program are readily accessible through the NMRA’s website.














This page last updated: